Welcome to IGPP

The Institute for Frontier Areas of Psychology and Mental Health engages in systematic and interdisciplinary research concerning insufficiently understood phenomena and anomalies at the frontiers of current scientific knowledge. These include altered states of consciousness, exceptional human experiences, mind-matter relations, and their social, cultural and historical contexts from the perspectives of the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences.

The Institute maintains a broadly conceived program offering information, education and counseling for people with exceptional experiences, a comprehensive special library and a research archive for parapsychology and frontier areas of psychology.

The Institute is ideologically neutral and institutionally independent. It cooperates with numerous domestic and international universities and research institutions. It contributes to the education of undergraduate and graduate students.

The Institute was founded in 1950 by physician and psychologist Hans Bender, one of the pioneers of parapsychological research. As a non-profit organization it is mainly funded by a private foundation. Today it is the largest institution of its kind worldwide.

© 2007 IGPP  (imprint)
last revision: Jan 17 2012

Willkommen am IGPP

Das Institut für Grenzgebiete der Psychologie und Psychohygiene (IGPP) beschäftigt sich mit der systematischen und interdisziplinären Erforschung von bisher unzureichend verstandenen Phänomenen und Anomalien an den Grenzen unseres Wissens. Dazu zählen veränderte Bewusstseinszustände, außergewöhnliche menschliche Erfahrungen, psychophysische Beziehungen sowie deren soziale, kulturelle und historische Kontexte aus den Perspektiven von Geistes-, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften.

Das IGPP unterhält zudem ein breit angelegtes Informations-, Aufklärungs- und Beratungsprogramm für Menschen mit außergewöhnlichen Erfahrungen ("Psychohygiene"), eine umfangreiche Spezialbibliothek sowie ein Forschungsarchiv für Parapsychologie und Grenzgebiete der Psychologie.

Das IGPP ist weltanschaulich neutral und institutionell unabhängig. Es kooperiert mit zahlreichen in- und ausländischen Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen. Es beteiligt sich an der Ausbildung von Studierenden und Doktoranden.

Das IGPP wurde 1950 von dem Arzt und Psychologen Hans Bender (1907-1991) gegründet, einem der Pioniere der parapsychologischen Forschung. Als gemeinnütziger Verein wird es vorwiegend durch private Stiftungsmittel finanziert. Heute ist es weltweit das größte Institut seiner Art.

© 2007 IGPP  (impressum)
Stand: 07.10.2014